Interview #3: James Fox (2020)⁠

“Small worlds”/Interview by M. Solav

Hintology
6 min readNov 8, 2020
Untitled (Odessa, 2020) by James Fox.

James Fox is a Canadian 3D modeler with a passion for fluid macro-photography. Using combinations of pigments and resins, he generates colourful interactions whose portrayal have the glow of surrealistic small worlds.⁠ Here’s our interview with him.

MS/I think the first obvious question that will come to most people’s mind would simply be: how do you come up with such impressive, surrealistic results? Could you describe your process a bit?

JF/My process is to get typically a combination fluids and objects under a macro lens — not always, but that is what I shoot the most. I try to keep my mind as open and abstract as possible when I’m coming up with new ideas. Occasionally there is a narrative to what I’m shooting, but usually I want people to discover what it is they see in my work. I think that forms a connection between my work and the viewer. I use resins, pigments and small objects in my shots. Most of them are done using a tripod, with small adjustable lighting, and a focus rail. My post production typically involves adjustments and cleanup in Lightroom, Helicon Focus for focus stacking, and I use Photoshop for photo merging. I don’t usually spend too much time in post-production because I like my shots to retain as much similarity as they can as at the time of capture. I shoot with a Sony A7RII, and the lenses I use most are a Sony 90mm macro and a Laowa 25mm 5:1 macro lens.

Untitled (Odessa, 2020) by James Fox.
Untitled (Odessa, 2020) by James Fox.
Untitled (Odessa, 2020) by James Fox.

MS/What inspired you to start experimenting with this kind of subject? How do you achieve the results you’re looking to obtain?

JF/I remember seeing some amazing work by Roman De Giuli. It was macro footage of paints and oils. It was really inspiring. I think that was the catalyst in regards to what inspired me to start using fluids in my shots. So he was definitely an artist that is still inspiring to me. In regards to the steps I take to get satisfying results, it mostly boils down to shooting as much as I possibly can, and always trying to play and experiment to get fresh results. Because my style is very niche, it is challenging sometimes to push my own boundaries creatively and get shots that feel fresh and exciting, but I try to take that in stride and always be open for learning and challenging myself.

MS/What kind of criteria indicate you that a picture is good enough for publication? What elements do you search for?

JF/I shoot a lot of decent images that will never see the light of day but I think that is a great way to see which images are really strong and captivating. I will often come back to shots over several days just to see if I still feel good about them before I’ll decide to show them. Because my shots are so abstract, I usually put a greater emphasis on composition, even though all of the technical aspects of shooting and post work are just as important in their own way. I’m always aiming for a good sense of balance and unity in my shots, even the more chaotic ones. I have a giant library of images, many of which haven’t been shown yet, and I always have a fairly large backlog of images to process, which is just the way I like it. It feels like there is always work to be done.

Untitled (Odessa, 2020) by James Fox.

MS/How has been your experience showcasing your work on Instagram?

JF/I am actually quite new to this platform, and I actually don’t spend a ton of time on it. I can say that my experience has been pleasant. There is so much amazing photography to experience, and anybody I’ve encountered on this platform has been generally nice and supportive. I actually started doing a daily photo post on Twitter a year or two back, and just recently started to do the same on Instagram. I do have a portfolio website (jamesfoxphoto.com), but I’ll be the first to admit that I should update it more frequently.

MS/Is there any photographers that you admire, whether or not their work is similar to yours?

JF/I have seen plenty examples of fluid photography before, some shot in macro. I don’t recall seeing anyone shoot exactly what/how I shoot, but it’s a wide world, so there could definitely be photographers that do it that I’m just not aware of. There are too many amazing photographers to name, but I would like to give a shout out to a wonderful photographer, Matt Molloy (@mattmolloyphoto). He does mostly landscape photography and he shoots these really incredible time stack shots. Everyone should check out his work.

Untitled (Odessa, 2020) by James Fox.
Untitled (Odessa, 2020) by James Fox.

MS/Has your work been featured or exposed anywhere in the past?

JF/I have done a small art festival before. It was a good experience, but shortly after I decided that I’d rather start to build a bigger presence online. I did receive an honorable mention in the “Monochrome Awards”, and I believe I am in one of their books. I also would like to publish a book of my work someday, it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while, so it’s kind of a bucket list thing I suppose!

MS/What should we expect from you in the future? Any project in mind?

JF/I would like to do some macro video and timelapse projects. It would require a fair amount more preparation and planning, but I have a lot of ideas that I’d like to see realized. I definitely have some projects planned involving merging my style with some other genres in photography, so perhaps something exciting will come of it.

Untitled (Odessa, 2020) by James Fox.

MS/Was there any specific reason motivating the selection of pictures that you’ve chosen to share with us this week?

JF/There wasn’t any particular motivation behind my choices. Some days, certain shots pop out more than others, I think that’s one of the great things about them being abstract. They can alter your mood or even seem to take on your mood. If you had asked me on a different day, you likely would have gotten a completely different set of images [laughs].

Portrait of James Fox.

James Fox is a Canadian 3D modeler with a passion for fluid macro-photography. Using combinations of pigments and resins, he generates colourful interactions whose portrayal have the glow of surrealistic small worlds.⁠ Here’s our interview with him.

Interviewed by M. Solav.

--

--

Hintology

New digital magazine that seeks to portray the abstract photography scene and the human-beings behind the pictures in all their depth and diversity.